Klipvlei farm
- Title
- Klipvlei farm
- Location Type
- farm
- Farm Number
- 251
- Nearby Town
- Danielskuil
- District Municipality
- ZF Mgcawu
- Local Municipality
- Kgatelopele
- Province
- Northern Cape
- Toponomy
- In Afrikaans: "Stony marsh"
- History
- On the farm Klipvlei, rock engravings have been found, which are likely a legacy of the San (PHR Snyman, Danielskuil: Van Griekwa-buitepos tot dienssentrum, HSRC, 1988, p.7). After 1915, asbestos was mined at Klpvilei by the Gillanders and Campbell Asbestos Company (Snyman 1988, p. 70). After that, mines periodically closed and re-opened, which must have been very destabilising for the workforce. By 1927, Dominion Blue Asbestos began operations at Klipvlei, which provided significant work opportunities for black and coloured people (Snyman 1988, p. 72). This company was taken over by the Cape Asbestos Company (later known as Cape Blue Mines), which remained in production until 1951. In 1962, JG van Staden started small-scale production on Klpvlei (Snyman 1988, p. 80).
- Latitude
- -30.4184
- Longitude
- 17.9058
Linked resources
Part of Klipvlei farm
